Welcome to the future!

Posting this from my new company sponsored iPad mini with Retina. Word on the street is that this–personal tablet computing–is the future of computing, but I’m not convinced. It’s great and all to have a (kinda) full featured computing device with you at all times, but I constantly find myself wishing I could just get back to my laptop and do the same task in 1/4th the time. For instance, as soon as I finish posting this I plan on heading to my computer and adding images and whatnot because doing so from the iPad is an obtuse nightmare.

This whole experience reminds me of those scenes in 2002 movie rendition of Minority report where Tom Cruise’s character interacts with some fancy-pants gesture based interface. It looked so awesome, but the reality is that efficiency tests showed that plain ol’ mouse and keyboard beat the fancy gesture interfaces by an order of magnitude. I guess you can lump me in with the old technology grump-a-grumps lamenting the passing of simpler times, but why add complexity to something that already simply works?

Edit: I ended up finishing this post in my laptop 😛

Tom Cruise at fancy-pants interface

Author: Derek Springer

I write code & brew beer--if you ask nice I'll share some with you :)

Leave a Reply

